ABE Content Standards


Minnesota ABE has adopted three sets of content standards to define the knowledge and skills adult students need to successfully transition to employment, post-secondary education or training, and/or increased engagement in the community. These content standards define the content domain of instruction in ABE classrooms and programs across the state. All Minnesota ABE programs are expected to incorporate these three sets of content standards into their programming at all levels.

The three sets of content standards are:

1. College and Career Readiness Standards (CCRS)

The CCRS define the academic content of ABE, including English Language Arts and Math. 

2. Transitions Integration Framework (TIF)

The TIF defines the soft skills and professional skills necessary to transition into employment or post-secondary training. These include skills such as critical thinking, effective communication, learning strategies and self-management.

3. Northstar Digital Literacy Standards

The Northstar Digital Literacy Standards define the digital literacy skills necessary to transition to employment or post-secondary education or training. These include skills such as using email, navigating the internet, and basic proficiency with Microsoft Word, Excel and Powerpoint.


Additional Resources

More information, resources and professional development around  content standards can be found on the ATLAS website at Key Activities.